The Washington DC Experience

 In February 2011 as part of begin diversity leader of the American Dietetic Association I had the privilege of going to the Public Policy Workshop in Washington DC.  Prior to the conference I arrived to stay at the hotel and decided to do some sightseeing.  I had lived in DC for 9 years before moving back to New York.  While living in DC I loved to visit the public museums especially the National Smithsonian African Art Museum.  I loved the intriguing art work there especially from the different regions and countries in Africa.  I remember while in high school I took an African Studies course where I had to memorize every country, natural resources, language, dialect, ethnicity, kingdoms and tribes and the list goes on and on.  This class made me appreciates who I am as an African-American and that I have a history.

National Smithsonian African Art Museum

National Smithsonian African Art Museum

Read More

Leave a Reply

