Women in Government Conference in St. Louis, MO

100_1384

Out on the road again but this time I am doing a very special speaking engagement in St. Louis, Missouri!  I was invited to speak at the Women in Government Conference on Outreach to Vulnerable Populations: Aging.

 The Women in Government Foundation, Inc., (which is headquartered in Washington, D.C.), is a national, non-profit, non-partisan organization of women state legislators that provides leadership opportunities, networking expert forums, and educational resources to address and resolve complex public policy issues to all 1,788 women state legislators.

Founded in 1988, Women In Government is a is a national, non-profit, non-partisan organization that has led the nation with its vision to empower and mobilize all women legislators to effect sound policy.

With over 20 years of experience working with state legislators, state agency representatives and the public, Women In Government proudly hosts over 12-20 educational conferences, state briefings, and other policy events annually to address the nation’s public policy issues. – Women in Government website – http://www.womeningovernment.org/

I was so honored to speak at this conference.  My speech was on Malnutrition which was sponsored by Abbott Nutrition. (Click Press Release for HEPSA Living Healthy – Denine Rogers RDN – Speaker at Women in Government Conference for further information about my speech).

100_1386

Before the conference began, I wanted to take some time to see the sites of St. Louis!  The first place I stop was to a very famous Soul Food Restaurant called Sweetie Pies.  If you are a fan of OWN (Oprah Winfrey Network) then you probably will recognize the show “Sweetie Pies” with Ms. Robbie and Montgomery Family.  Well, I knew that since I was in St. Louis , I was not going to leave until I stop by there for meal.

100_1400

I hitch a cab ride to the new Sweetie Pies at the Upper Crust at around 4:00 pm and I was in shock that there were no lines.  On the show you always see the long lines of people fighting to get into the restaurant.  One of the waiters told me that during the late afternoon is the best time since the lunch crowd was gone.

The beautiful picture of Ms. Robbie

The beautiful picture of Ms. Robbie

100_1396

The famous bar

The famous bar

I was hoping to meet Ms. Robbie but I was told that she was unfortunately not there.

Sweetie Pies Upper Crust with Ms. Jan and Ms. Linda!

Sweetie Pies Upper Crust with Ms. Jan and Ms. Linda!

I did had a chance to meet with her lovely sisters Jan and Linda.  They were both so nice and very friendly.  They are truly appreciative of everyone who is a fan to the television show.  I was looking forward to have some fish but unfortunately fish is only made on Fridays.  (I was there on Thursday).  I did enjoyed my vegetarian plate and i made sure I took as many pictures of Sweetie Pies as possible.

Delicious Vegetable Plate

Delicious Vegetable Plate

Yummy Mac and Cheese

Yummy Mac and Cheese

Very Sweet Candied Yams

Very Sweet Candied Yams

This was not the only thing I did on my one day trip to St. Louis.  Next week I will discuss about my adventure at the famous landmark in St. Louis – The Gateway Arch!  Happy Labor Day!

100_1402

2 responses to “Women in Government Conference in St. Louis, MO

  1. Looks delish! When in town, I will DEFINITELY visit. Thanks!

  2. Thanks Sis for your wonderful comments. Love Sweetie pies!

Leave a Reply

